Key folder in safepath unaccessible

Raganidhi Volume 1

Raganidhi is a unique interactive multimedia software in a 3 Volume package containing an advanced study on the Ragams of Karnatic Music.

Raganidhi is about Ragams and is indeed a treasure trove of ragams. It contains a Database of about 2500 Ragams with respect to their Swara sthanams (notes) , their Moorchanas (Ascending and Descending Scales) and corresponding Melakarthas (parent Ragams) . Of these, about 370 Ragams are presented for detailed study. This study includes, in addition to vocal rendering of Moorchanas, presentation of detailed Characteristics

Volume 1 contains a detailed study of Ragams starting with alphabets A to J.

Sales price
Tax amount


US $10.90

View a brief Demo here

Raganidhi consists of 10 chapters viz., Introduction, Swarasthanas, Science of Ragams, List of Ragams, Melakarthas, Ragalakshanams, Special Points to Note, Compositions, Quiz and Games & Puzzles.

INDEX is a quick search way for you to find where you will find a topic of interest.

INTRODUCTION is what you are browsing now.

SWARASTHANAMS explains the scientific basis and mathematical precision of the various Notes of music. It graphically describes why there are SEVEN basic notes, and not six or eight.

SCIENCE OF RAGAMS describes the formationof 72 Melakarthas (parent Ragams) and the technical terms and technical concepts of Karnatic Music.

LIST OF RAGAMS is a scrolling list of 2500 Ragams in which the name of the ragam, the corresponding Melakartha and the ascending and descending scales are given.

MELAKARTHAS chapter deals with technical details as also vocal rendering of the scales of all Melakarthas. A live keyboard with veena sound is presented with all the melakartha notes individually marked so that the learner can get a feel of the Ragam.

RAGA LAKSHANAMS is a selection of 380 Ragams. Detailed analysis of Ragams starting with alphabets A to J are presented in volume 1, K to R in volume 2 and S to Y in volume 3. The Alapanas and Swaralapanas of most of the important ragams are presented. Details of the Melakartha, Swarasthanas, Moorchanas, Special features and a List of Important Compositions are presented against each Ragam. Moorchana’s (i.e. the Arohana-Avarohana) of all ragams are sung and presented in all the 3 volumes.

COMPOSITIONS chapter contains around 160 COMPOSITIONS by Great Masters. These are presented to give the user a feel of the Ragam. Word by word meanings of all these Compositions are given to let the user understand the Bhavam also.

There is a Search database presented in the software. This is the first ever Database of Ragams presented in the world. The exhaustive database contains an advanced search facility wherein the user can search for Ragams based on their Moorchanas or their names.

In the Chapter SPECIAL POINTS TO NOTE, there are five lessons.

The first is a lesson on Twin Ragams

(Some Ragams belonging to the same Melakartha or other Melakarthas, in close proximity, bear striking resemblance to each other). To discern the differences, the Arohana-Avarohana and swaram sequences of closely resembling ragams are presented so that the user is able to identify the differences and understand the ragams better. The following Twin Ragam sets are presented.

(Sree Ragam - Manirangu) (Reethigoula - Anandabhairavi) (Kanada - Phalamanjari) (Surati - Kedaragoula) (Janaranjani - Poornachandrika) (Kedaram - Neelambari) (Arabhi - Devagandhari - Sama) (Kambhoji - Yadukula Kambhoji) (Abhogi - Sreeranjani - Jayamanohari) (Takka - Lalitha - Vasantha) (Abheri - Karnataka Devagandhari - Bheemplas) (Nayaki - Darbar)

Lessons in Ragalapana, Kalpana Swarams Neraval and Grahabhedam are included in the software.

The Ragalapana of ragams Mohana, Kalyani and Bhairavi are described in detail with a demonstration

The Kalpana Swarams of Ragams Panthuvarali and Sankarabharanam are explained.

The Neraval of Ragams Kharaharapriya and Thodi are demonstrated.

Grahabhedam of the cyclical ragams Hindola, Sudhdhasaveri, Sudhdhadhayasi, Mohana and Madhyamavathi are preseted with examples. Similarly Sankarabharanam, Natabhairavi, Kharaharapriya, Harikambhoji, MechaKalyani, Chyutha Panchama Thodi and Hanumaththodi are presented. Gamakams and Ragamalikas are also explained with examples.

Apart from these lessons there are other interactive chapters for kids such as QUIZ, GAMES & PUZZLES to make learning Karnatic Music more interesting.

A Matching Game, a Snakes and Ladders game, a Music Maze are the games included. QUIZ offers interesting quiz items to help a student identify vocal renderings of Ragams.

Downloadable Products
If you have purchased this product then you will need to login to reveal your download link.


There are yet no reviews for this product.